So Does Your Boyfriend . . .

Terrific photo courtesy of Puck Daddy . . . and those willing to drop 35 bucks can get their very own shirt right here.

(h/t @felixpotvin for the gongshowgear link)

This entry was posted in NHL, Nicklas Backstrom, Washington Capitals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to So Does Your Boyfriend . . .

  1. Geo says:

    Judging from this and the Ovy photo at the post (same conference today I assume?) [http://voices.washingtonpost.com/dcsportsbog/2010/04/ovechkin_we_can_win_the_cup.html?wprss=dcsportsbog], the Caps need to get some haircuts! 🙂

  2. Eric says:

    BTW, you can get the shirt here.

    http://www.gongshowgear.com/gears/12/s=156.html

    Gongshow produces some of the best hockey apparel out there. Great site to learn some of the lifestyle for the uninitiated as well.

  3. Eric says:

    Whoops, didnt see earlier link. But yeah, sickest stuff on the market.

  4. HannahMontana says:

    LOVE the jersey!!! Hilarous! And probably true! And no, Nicky B. does NOT need a haircut! It’s perfect just like it is!

  5. Mike Jones says:

    Good to see Nicky’s bounced back so quickly from the crushing loss. I find the shirt as amusing as the next person, but I’m not sure it’s really the time to be so cocky if you want to come off as disappointed in the season’s result.

  6. The Mule says:

    Am I only one that finds this to be a big middle finger to ones own fans? What a punk.

  7. @ Mule, I see it as a fun joke rather than a flipped bird… after all, to quote The Simpsons, “It’s funny because it’s true.”

  8. Mike Jones says:

    Yeah I agree with The Mule. Not sure if my sarcasm came across in my earlier post, but I’m surprised at this from Nick. I would be surprised at it from him anytime, but especially on this day.

    Why is it cool to mock dudes who, in many cases, likely bought his jersey for their GFs themselves?

  9. Mike Jones says:

    @Orderedchaos The caps lost to an 8 seed on Wednesday night. That’s also something that’s ‘true.’ I bet most people on this site don’t find it too funny.

    I know it’s trying to be funny, and I can see why people consider it funny, but I think it’s just a arrogant jerk attitude from someone who should realize that the fans buying his jersey lead fairly directly to his big salary.

  10. Guinastasia says:

    The last time Ovie got his haircut — it was his MOM who cut it. No joke.
    http://www.bigleaguescrew.com/nhl/alexander-ovechkin-got-a-haircut-from-his-mom

    I wonder if she puts a bowl over his head? Either way, it was an improvement.

  11. Hittman says:

    Backstrom was one of the few bright spots against the Habs. He can do whatever he wants. Mike Green, on the other hand, should park his car in a garage from now on if he doesn’t already.

  12. Mule: I don’t see it as any sort of bird. Kid’s 22, it’s true if you look around Verizon Center at any game. Folks need to lighten up. I’m a big fan, I’m disappointed. I’ll live and be back in my seats next year. These guys will figure it out and bring a Cup to DC for the first time soon.

  13. barb says:

    kudos to nicky for maintaining his sense of humor!

  14. OvieTracker says:

    I’m a little more realistic–and subdued–two days removed from the end. I still don’t see the humor, but the rose colored glasses have been put away, at least until next season starts.

  15. Letz Go Caps says:

    “These guys will figure it out and bring a Cup to DC for the first time soon.”

    That’s a lot of optimism for a franchise that has done nothing but fail in my lifetime. For all we know the window has closed and this was the last best chance. That’s why I squandered opportunity like this shouldn’t be taken lightly.

  16. Patrick says:

    Ok, people, it is a shirt. Enough with the Doom n’ Gloom!
    So we lost to a very well-coached, highly defensive team.
    Some minor system tweakage, accompanied by a few shrewd personel adjustments, and we’re back next year with a clean slate and another lesson learned. The future is very bright. The Caps are young, extremely talented, and well on their way to being an awe-inspiring machine. Yes, it would have been nice to have had a long run this year but in my heart I thought they needed another year of higher-education.

    Chin up fairweather fans, or get off the bandwagon! Some of us LIFERS need room to celebrate in the near future.

  17. angela says:

    I’m absolutely with Patrick on this one. I deeply love this team, and I have hope and faith to spare. (You know, if anyone needs to borrow some.)

    I’ll never lay claim to the term Lifer, but I know, when the time comes, I’ll still be screaming “Let’s go, Caps!!” with ferocity sufficient to cause denture damage.

  18. Love the shirt. Got a hell of a laugh out of it. Actually followed the link on and found a shirt I rather like as well.

    Is Nicky planning to play in Germany? Any news on that end?

  19. Uriah says:

    Nicky played real hard, and was easily one of our top 3 forwards in each game, for the entire series. He can wear whatever freaking shirt he wants as far as I’m concerned.

    If each player on the team had elevated their game in the same way Nick did, we would have won in 5. Please, if you need to hate, pick another target and have a better reason. Thanks.

  20. khuddle says:

    @Hittman. Problem with the Caps is I think they are in big time denial about Green. If I was GM of this team he would be first player I would be looking to trade, ahead (WAY ahead) of Semin and Flash. But I dont see that happening. Best we can hope for is that he is given a reduced role on a less prominent line.

  21. sean says:

    Well let’s sound like Guin’s fans or Habs fans; ‘Fire the Coach’ Get rid of everybody’ blah! blah! Hate Nicky b/c of his shirt? Get a life and a sense of humor. If this playoff is the end to be all, find a good knot to use. I’ve been through many a Cap playoff and this is nothing compared to Petr Nedved abusing us. If you want to be a Caps fan, buckle in, you are in for quite a ride.

  22. Sonja says:

    That shirt is hilarious … if you’re offended by it, stop looking at it. Geez. It’s a game. And … it’s hockey. Even in the NHL it’s supposed to be fun and the Caps had lost that in round one. Every kids who’s ever played learned you win as a team, you lose as a team. So fans can point to this player and that player … but they lost as a team. And they lost because they lost their sense of freedom and joy in the game. Too much pressure …

  23. WashCapsRock says:

    I totally agree with Patrick. As a female and a true fan, I proudly wear my Backstrom jersey and found the t-shirt hysterical. Trainging camp is only 4 months away – woohoo!

  24. Guinastasia says:

    It’d be even funnier if it said “your MOM” (God, I’m sick)

  25. Guinastasia says:

    Note: I do NOT think his shirt is insulting, or offensive.

  26. Oarboar says:

    Mike Jones — you ever consider that maybe he grabbed that shirt out of the closet because it was the first one there that morning? Sad to see some people completely without a sense of humor. Thank God I’m not one of them.

  27. Donnab says:

    totally agree with patrick. For those fans who want to see Green, Semin or whoever else traded, think about that. Do you really want them in a different jersey playing against Washington? I think not. And as well, who do you want for Green? As Patrick said, the future is bright

Leave a Reply

