Gone Skating

Extra strong Maxwell House and an extra helping of blueberries in the hot cakes this morning, for it is the best possible morning on my calendar: the winter weekend affording a Maryland pond hockey skate with my beer league buddies. See you in blissful soreness this evening, with photos.

Update (7:05 p.m.): Am sore. But I’m middle-aged. But . . . I scored the shinny-winning tally today when we were knotted at 19-all in a first-to-20 game. There’s a bit of Bill Guerin still in me.

It was a spectacular day for shinny — cold and crisp and sunny; best of all, we had the pond to ourselves. Meaning, I’m not gonna tell you were we where, cause next weekend is a three-day weekend for some, and we wanna be back out there with the sheet all to ourselves.

This entry was posted in Outdoor hockey, Shinny, Sweaters, Washington the hockey town. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gone Skating

  1. Hockey Barista says:

    Maxwell House? Really?

    You drink Boone’s Farm, too, don’t you?

  2. Heh… Barista, you are way off on Pucks’ wine tastes, though I too wondered about Maxwell House. 🙂

  3. I’d take Maxwell House over $5-a-cup bitter Starbucks any day; twice on Sunday. And Mike’s right — no reader is in any position to critique my post-skate liquid palate.

  4. Dave Johnson says:

    I hate to risk spoiling your serene pond, but where did you find thick enough ice for some hockey?

  5. Dave Johnson says:

    Ah, reading comprehension escapes me tonight. Too bad.

  6. Great for you.

    As much as I enjoy watching hockey – nothing beats actually playing. Take some ibuprofen tonight.

  7. Dave,

    I could tell you, but then I would have to confiscate your cooler full of post-skate libations. If you want to skate next weekend, message me off line. We could always use another passionate puck body.

  8. Eric says:

    I was looking at the “alcohol permit” rules after I got home…

  9. puckbite.com says:

    Nowhere do I grin so large as when I’m playing pond hockey. Sardines and Gatorade make a great pre-game snack. Any kind of doughy thing after hits the spot.

  10. Dave Johnson says:

    Any updates the pond hockey forecast for this weekend?

Leave a Reply

